Malaysia Calendar 2014

The Malaysia calendar 2014 published here has been officially published from the Prime Minister's Department. The school holidays of Malaysia 2014 has also being confirmed by the Ministry of Education. Use this calendar to plan your holidays when you are visiting Malaysia.

If you are able to, it is better to plan your holidays so as not to coincide with the public holidays as most of the hotels will impose surcharges during this time. Planning early will also ensure that you get better deals for your flight tickets if you are taking a flight to your destinations.

The National Holidays are holidays of which the entire country will be on holidays including Sabah and Sarawak.

The State holidays or Federal Territories holidays will only be observed by that particular state. There are a total of 13 states and 3 Federal Territories in Malaysia.

Take note that Kedah, Kelantan and Terengganu observe Fridays and Saturdays as weekends. The 3 Federal Territories (Kuala Lumpur, Putrajaya and Labuan), Perlis, Penang, Perak, Selangor, Negeri Sembilan, Melaka, Johor, Pahang, Sabah, Sarawak observe Saturdays and Sundays as weekends.

Year 2014 has been designated as Visit Malaysia Year, hence there will be many promotional activities being conducted nationwide.

Malaysia Calendar 2014 National Holidays


14 January (Tuesday): Prophet Muhammad's Birthday


31 January (Friday) & 1 February (Saturday): Chinese New Year


1 May (Thursday): Labour Day

13 May (Tuesday): Wesak Day


7 June (Saturday): Birthday of Seri Paduka Baginda Yang di-Pertuan Agong


28 July (Monday) & 29 July (Tuesday): Hari Raya Puasa *

* to be confirmed


31 August (Sunday): National Day or Hari Kebangsaan


16 Sept (Tuesday): Malaysia Day


5 Oct (Sunday): Hari Raya Haji/Qurban*

6 Oct (Monday): 2nd day of Hari Raya Haji/Qurban* is also a public holiday in Kelantan and Terengganu.

22 Oct (Wednesday): Deepavali

25 Oct (Thursday): Awal Muharram* (Maal Hijrah)

Note: There is no public holiday for Labuan and Sarawak on Deepavali day.

* To be confirmed


25 Dec (Thursday): Christmas Day


Whenever a public holiday falls on a Sunday(states that observe Sat and Sun as weekends), the next day shall be a public holiday.
Whenever a public holiday falls on a Saturday(states that observe Fri and Sat as weekends), the next day shall be a public holiday.

Malaysia Calendar 2014 School Calendar

For the year 2014, the total number of school days including public holidays is 209 days. The total number of holidays is 81 days.

All States Except Kedah, Kelantan and Terengganu

School Commences : 2 January 2014

School Days (57 days): 2 Jan 2014 - 21 March 2014

1st Mid Term Break (9 Days) : 22 March - 30 March 2014

School Days (42 days): 31 March 2014 - 27 May 2014

2nd Mid Term Break (19 Days) : 28 May - 15 June 2014

School Days (65 days): 16 June 2014 - 12 Sept 2014

3rd Mid Term Break (9 Days) : 13 Sept - 21 Sept 2014

School Days (45 days): 22 Sept 2014 - 21 Nov 2014

End of the Year Break (44 Days) : 22 November 2014 - 4 January 2015

* Take note that schools in Kedah, Kelantan and Terengganu begin a day earlier for all dates.


1 Jan (Wednesday): New Year 2014 Celebration (only for Kuala Lumpur, Putrajaya, Labuan, Melaka, Negeri Sembilan, Pahang, Perak, Penang, Sabah, Sarawak, Selangor)

14 Jan (Tuesday): Birthday of Tuanku Yang Di-Pertuan Besar of Negeri Sembilan (only for Negeri Sembilan)

17 Jan (Friday): Thaipusam (only for Kuala Lumpur, Putrajaya, Johor, Negeri Sembilan, Perak, Penang, Selangor)

19 Jan (Sunday): Birthday of Sultan of Kedah (only for Kedah)


1 Feb (Saturday): Federal Territory Day (only for KL, Putrajaya, Labuan)


4 March (Tuesday): Anniversary of Coronation of Sultan of Terengganu (only for Terengganu)


15 April (Tuesday): Declaration of Melaka as A Historical City (only for Melaka)

18 April (Friday): Good Friday (only for Sabah, Sarawak)

19 April (Saturday): Birthday of Sultan of Perak (only for Perak)

26 April (Saturday): Birthday of The Sultan of Terengganu (only for Terengganu)


7 May (Wednesday): Hol Day of Pahang State (only for Pahang)

17 May (Saturday): Birthday of Tuanku Raja Perlis (only for Perlis)

27 May (Tuesday): Israk & Mikraj (only for Kedah, Negeri Sembilan & Perlis)

30 May (Friday) & 31 May (Saturday): Keamatan Harvest Festival (only for Labuan and Sabah)


1 June (Sunday) & 2 June (Monday): Gawai Dayak Festival (only for Sarawak)

29 June (Sunday): Awal Ramadan* (only for Johor, Kedah and Melaka)


7 July (Monday): George Town Unesco World Heritage Day (only for Penang)

12 July (Saturday): Birthday of Yang di-Pertua Negeri of Penang (only for Penang)

15 July (Tuesday): Nuzul Al-Qu'ran (only for Kelantan, Pahang, Perlis, Penang, Perak, Selangor & Terengganu)


13 Sept (Saturday): Birthday of Yang Di-Pertua Negeri Sarawak (only for Sarawak)


4 Oct (Saturday): Birthday of Yang Di-Pertua Negeri Sabah (only for Sabah)

10 Oct (Friday): Birthday of Melaka State Governor (only for Melaka)

24 Oct (Friday): Birthday of The Sultan of Pahang (only for Pahang)


11 Nov (Tuesday) & 12 Nov (Wednesday): Birthday of Sultan of Kelantan (only for Kelantan)

22 Nov (Saturday): Birthday of Sultan of Johor (only for Johor)

29 Nov (Saturday): Hol Day of Johor State (only for Johor)


11 Dec (Thursday): Birthday of Sultan of Selangor (only for Selangor)


Whenever a public holiday falls on a Sunday(states that observe Sat and Sun as weekends), the next day shall be a public holiday.
Whenever a public holiday falls on a Saturday(states that observe Fri and Sat as weekends), the next day shall be a public holiday.

Go to Malaysia Calendar 2015

New! Comments

Have your say about what you just read! Leave us a comment in the box below.

Terengganu | Perak | Malaysia Hotels | Airlines | Shopping 

Pulau Perhentian | Beaches & Islands | Highlands | Theme Parks 

Museums & History | Landmarks | Public Transports | Videos 

Souvenir | Calendar 2019 | Tourism Centre | Cyberjaya | Golfing 

Penang Food | KTM | Beruas Museum |  Selangor |  Templer's Park

Pulau Ketam | KLIA2 | Pulau Sibu | Advertise With Us 

Recent Articles

  1. MyRapid Card

    Use the MyRapid Card to travel on RapidKL buses, LRTs and Monorails for better discounts.

    Read More

  2. Puteri Harbour Johor

    Puteri Harbour Johor is located in Nusajaya and is part of the Iskandar Malaysia new development area. Theme parks, Traders Hotels, ferry terminal, clubhouse and berthing facilities are all here.

    Read More

  3. Negeri Sembilan State Museum

    Negeri Sembilan State Museum

    Read More

National Zoo Camel
National Zoo
Have a close encounter
with the animals
at National Zoo.

Kuala Lumpur Bird Park
KL Bird Park
Have a close encounter
with the birds at
KL Bird Park.