Malaysia Calendar 2013

The Malaysia calendar 2013 shows the national and state public holidays in Malaysia. The school holidays of Malaysia 2013 has also being confirmed by the Ministry of Education. Use this calendar to plan your holidays when you are visiting Malaysia.

If you are able to, it is better to plan your holidays so as not to coincide with the public holidays as most of the hotels will impose surcharges during this time. Planning early will also ensure that you get better deals for your flight tickets if you are taking a flight to your destinations.

The National Holidays are holidays of which the entire country will be on holidays including Sabah and Sarawak.

There are a total of 13 states and 3 Federal Territories in Malaysia.

Kedah, Kelantan and Terengganu observe Fridays and Saturdays as weekends.

The 3 Federal Territories (Kuala Lumpur, Putrajaya and Labuan), Perlis, Penang, Perak, Selangor, Negeri Sembilan, Melaka, Johor, Pahang, Sabah, Sarawak observe Saturdays and Sundays as weekends.

Malaysia Calendar 2013 National Holidays


24 January (Thursday): Prophet Muhammad's Birthday


10 February (Sunday) & 11 February (Monday): Chinese New Year

Note: Kelantan and Terengganu only observe 10 February as a public holiday.


1 May (Wednesday): Labour Day

24 May (Friday): Wesak Day


1 June (Saturday): Birthday of Seri Paduka Baginda Yang di-Pertuan Agong


8 August (Thursday) & 9 August (Friday): Hari Raya Puasa *

31 August (Saturday): National Day

* To be confirmed


16 Sept (Monday): Malaysia Day


15 Oct (Tuesday) : Hari Raya Haji/Qurban*

16 Oct (Wednesday): 2nd day of Hari Raya Haji/Qurban* is also a public holiday in Kelantan, Terengganu, Kedah & Perlis.

* To be confirmed


2 Nov (Saturday): Deepavali

5 Nov (Tuesday): Awal Muharram* (Maal Hijrah)

Note: There is no public holiday for Labuan and Sarawak on Deepavali day.

* To be confirmed


25 Dec (Wednesday): Christmas Day


Whenever a public holiday falls on a Sunday(states that observe Sat and Sun as weekends), the next day shall be a public holiday.

Whenever a public holiday falls on a Saturday(states that observe Fri and Sat as weekends), the next day shall be a public holiday.

Malaysia Calendar 2013 School Holidays

Malaysia calendar 2013 total number of school days including public holidays is 205 days. The total number of holidays is 84 days.

All States Except Kedah, Kelantan and Terengganu

See the Malaysia Calendar 2013 school holidays of Malaysia.

School Commences : 2 January 2013

School Days (58 days): 2 Jan 2013 - 22 March 2013

1st Mid Term Break (9 Days) : 23 March - 31 March 2013

School Days (40 days): 1 April 2013 - 24 May 2013

2nd Mid Term Break (16 Days) : 25 May - 9 June 2013

School Days (42 days): 10 June 2013 - 6 Aug 2013

3rd Mid Term Break (12 Days) : 7 Aug - 18 Aug 2013

School Days (65 days): 19 Aug 2013 - 15 Nov 2013

End of the Year Break (47 Days) : 16 November 2013 - 1 January 2014

* Take note that schools in Kedah, Kelantan and Terengganu begin a day earlier for all dates.

Malaysia Calendar 2013 State Holidays


1 Jan (Tuesday): New Year 2013 Celebration (only for Kuala Lumpur, Putrajaya, Labuan, Melaka, Negeri Sembilan, Pahang, Perak, Penang, Sabah, Sarawak, Selangor)

14 Jan (Monday): Birthday of Tuanku Yang Di-Pertuan Besar of Negeri Sembilan (only for Negeri Sembilan)

20 Jan (Sunday): Birthday of Sultan of Kedah (only for Kedah)

27 Jan (Sunday): Thaipusam (only for Kuala Lumpur, Putrajaya, Johor, Negeri Sembilan, Perak, Penang, Selangor)


1 Feb (Friday): Federal Territory Day (only for KL, Putrajaya, Labuan)


4 March (Monday): Anniversary of Coronation of Sultan of Terengganu (only for Terengganu)

29 March (Friday): Good Friday (only for Sabah, Sarawak)


15 April (Monday): Declaration of Melaka as A Historical City (only for Melaka)

19 April (Friday): Birthday of Sultan of Perak (only for Perak)

26 April (Friday): Birthday of The Sultan of Terengganu (only for Terengganu)


7 May (Tuesday): Hol Day of Pahang State (only for Pahang)

17 May (Friday): Birthday of Tuanku Raja Perlis (only for Perlis)

30 May (Thursday) & 31 May (Friday): Keamatan Harvest Festival (only for Labuan and Sabah)


1 June (Saturday) & 2 June (Sunday): Gawai Dayak Festival (only for Sarawak)

6 June (Thursday): Israk & Mikraj (only for Kedah, Negeri Sembilan & Perlis)


7 July (Sunday): George Town Unesco World Heritage Day (only for Penang)

10 July (Wednesday): Awal Ramadan* (only for Johor, Kedah and Melaka)

13 July (Saturday): Birthday of Yang di-Pertua Negeri of Penang (only for Penang)

26 July (Friday): Nuzul Al-Qu'ran (only for Kelantan, Pahang, Perlis, Penang, Perak, Selangor & Terengganu)

* To be confirmed


14 Sept (Saturday): Birthday of Yang Di-Pertua Negeri Sarawak (only for Sarawak)


5 Oct (Saturday): Birthday of Yang Di-Pertua Negeri Sabah (only for Sabah)

12 Oct (Saturday): Birthday of Melaka State Governor (only for Melaka)

24 Oct (Thursday): Birthday of The Sultan of Pahang (only for Pahang)


11 Nov (Monday) & 12 Nov (Tuesday): Birthday of Sultan of Kelantan (only for Kelantan)

22 Nov (Friday): Birthday of Sultan of Johor (only for Johor)


9 Dec (Monday): Hol Day of Johor State (only for Johor)

11 Dec (Wednesday): Birthday of Sultan of Selangor (only for Selangor)


Whenever a public holiday falls on a Sunday (states that observe Sat and Sun as weekends), the next day shall be a public holiday.

Whenever a public holiday falls on a Saturday (states that observe Fri and Sat as weekends), the next day shall be a public holiday.

New! Comments

Have your say about what you just read! Leave us a comment in the box below.