Malaysia Calendar 2016


The Malaysia calendar 2016 published here has been officially published from the Prime Minister's Department. Use this calendar to plan your holidays when you are visiting Malaysia.

If you are able to, it is better to plan your holidays so as not to coincide with the public holidays as most of the hotels will impose surcharges during this time. Planning early will also ensure that you get better deals for your flight tickets if you are taking a flight to your destinations.

The National Holidays are holidays of which the entire country will be on holidays including Sabah and Sarawak.

The State holidays or Federal Territories holidays will only be observed by that particular state. There are a total of 13 states and 3 Federal Territories in Malaysia. Take note that Kedah, Kelantan and Terengganu observe Fridays and Saturdays as weekends.

The 3 Federal Territories (Kuala Lumpur, Putrajaya and Labuan), Perlis, Penang, Perak, Selangor, Negeri Sembilan, Melaka, Johor, Pahang, Sabah, Sarawak observe Saturdays and Sundays as weekends.

Malaysia Calendar 2016 National Holidays


FEBRUARY

8 February (Monday): Chinese New Year

MAY

1 May (Sunday): Labour Day

21 May (Saturday): Wesak Day







JUNE

4 June (Saturday): Birthday of Seri Paduka Baginda Yang di-Pertuan Agong


JULY

6 July (Wednesday) & 7 July (Thursday): Hari Raya Puasa *

* to be confirmed

AUGUST

31 August (Wednesday): National Day or Hari Kebangsaan


SEPTEMBER

12 Sept (Monday): Hari Raya Haji/Qurban*

13 Sept (Tuesday): 2nd day of Hari Raya Haji/Qurban* is also a public holiday in Kelantan and Terengganu.

16 Sept (Friday): Malaysia Day

* To be confirmed

OCTOBER

2 Oct (Sunday): Awal Muharram* (Maal Hijrah)

29 Oct (Saturday): Deepavali

Note: There will not be any public holiday for Sarawak on Deepavali day.

* To be confirmed

DECEMBER

12 Dec (Monday): Prophet Muhammad's Birthday

25 Dec (Sunday): Christmas Day

NOTE:

Whenever a public holiday falls on a Sunday(states that observe Sat and Sun as weekends), the next day shall be a public holiday.
Whenever a public holiday falls on a Saturday(states that observe Fri and Sat as weekends), the next day shall be a public holiday. 


Malaysia Calendar 2016 School Calendar 

Here are the school days and term breaks for Malaysia public schools that has been published by Ministry of Education, Malaysia. Use it to plan ahead for your holidays.


All States Except Kedah, Johor, Kelantan and Terengganu

School Commences : 4 January 2016

School Days: 4 Jan 2016 - 11 Mar 2016

1st Mid Term Break (9 Days) : 12 March - 20 March 2016

School Days: 21 March 2016 - 27 May 2016

2nd Mid Term Break (16 Days) : 28 May - 12 June 2016

School Days: 13 June 2016 - 9 Sept 2016

3rd Mid Term Break (9 Days) : 10 Sept - 18 Sept 2016

School Days: 19 Sept 2016 - 25 Nov 2016

End of the Year Break (37 Days) : 26 November 2016 - 1 January 2017

* Take note that schools in Kedah, Johor, Kelantan and Terengganu begin a day earlier for all dates.


Malaysia Calendar 2016 State Holidays

JANUARY

1 Jan (Friday): New Year 2016 Celebration (only for Kuala Lumpur, Putrajaya, Labuan, Melaka, Negeri Sembilan, Pahang, Perak, Penang, Sabah, Sarawak, Selangor)

14 Jan (Thursday): Birthday of Tuanku Yang Di-Pertuan Besar of Negeri Sembilan (only for Negeri Sembilan)

17 Jan (Sunday): Birthday of Sultan of Kedah (only for Kedah)

24 Jan (Sunday): Thaipusam (only for Kuala Lumpur, Putrajaya, Johor, Negeri Sembilan, Perak, Penang, Selangor)


FEBRUARY

1 Feb (Monday): Federal Territory Day (only for KL, Putrajaya, Labuan)
9 Feb (Tuesday): Second day of Chinese New Year (holiday in all states except Kelantan & Terengganu)

MARCH

4 March (Friday): Anniversary of Coronation of Sultan of Terengganu (only for Terengganu)

23 March (Wednesday): Birthday of Sultan of Johor (only for Johor)

25 March (Friday): Good Friday (only for Sabah, Sarawak)


APRIL


15 April (Friday): Declaration of Melaka as A Historical City (only for Melaka)

26 April (Tuesday): Birthday of The Sultan of Terengganu (only for Terengganu)


MAY


5 May (Thursday): Israk & Mikraj (only for Kedah, Negeri Sembilan & Perlis)

7 May (Saturday): Hol Day of Pahang State (only for Pahang)

17 May (Tuesday): Birthday of Tuanku Raja Perlis (only for Perlis)

30 May (Monday) & 31 May (Tuesday): Keamatan Harvest Festival (only for Labuan and Sabah)


JUNE

1 June (Wednesday) & 2 June (Thursday): Gawai Dayak Festival (only for Sarawak)

6 June (Monday): Awal Ramadan* (only for Johor, Kedah and Melaka)

22 Jun (Wednesday): Nuzul Al-Qu'ran (only for Kelantan, Pahang, Perlis, Penang, Perak, Selangor & Terengganu)


JULY

7 July (Thursday): George Town Unesco World Heritage Day (only for Penang)

9 July (Saturday): Birthday of Yang di-Pertua Negeri of Penang (only for Penang)


SEPTEMBER

10 Sept (Saturday): Birthday of Yang Di-Pertua Negeri Sarawak (only for Sarawak)

13 Sept (Tuesday): Second day of Hari Raya Qurban (only for Perlis & Kedah)


OCTOBER

1 Oct (Saturday): Birthday of Yang Di-Pertua Negeri Sabah (only for Sabah)

14 Oct (Friday): Birthday of Melaka State Governor (only for Melaka)

24 Oct (Monday): Birthday of The Sultan of Pahang (only for Pahang)


NOVEMBER

6 Nov (Sunday): Hol Day of Johor State (only for Johor)

11 Nov (Friday) & 12 Nov (Saturday): Birthday of Sultan of Kelantan (only for Kelantan)

27 Nov (Sunday): Birthday of Sultan of Perak (only for Perak)


DECEMBER

11 Dec (Sunday): Birthday of Sultan of Selangor (only for Selangor)

Note:

Whenever a public holiday falls on a Sunday(states that observe Sat and Sun as weekends), the next day shall be a public holiday.


Whenever a public holiday falls on a Saturday(states that observe Fri and Sat as weekends), the next day shall be a public holiday.

















New! Comments

Have your say about what you just read! Leave us a comment in the box below.

Terengganu | Perak | Malaysia Hotels | Airlines | Shopping 

Pulau Perhentian | Beaches & Islands | Highlands | Theme Parks 

Museums & History | Landmarks | Public Transports | Videos 

Souvenir | Calendar 2017 | Tourism Centre | Cyberjaya | Golfing 

Penang Food | KTM | Beruas Museum |  Selangor |  Templer's Park

Pulau Ketam | KLIA2 | Pulau Sibu | Advertise With Us 






Recent Articles

  1. Cherating Turtle Sanctuary

    Head for Cherating Turtle Sanctuary during the month of April to August and see the turtles lay eggs in the night. This centre also has many exhibits and information on turtles.

    Read More

  2. Malaysia Calendar 2018

    Malaysia Calendar 2018 provides the dates of all the public holidays in Malaysia. Plan your holidays by using this guide to get the best deals.

    Read More



National Zoo Camel
National Zoo
Have a close encounter
with the animals
at National Zoo.


Kuala Lumpur Bird Park
KL Bird Park
Have a close encounter
with the birds at
KL Bird Park.